Home


Riccardo Allegretti  (Italy) Social and Health Practitioner (OSS)

map_italy

Riccardo Allegretti from Terni, Italy located in the Umbria region near Rome  —  is the featured student for this issue of  the English_For_You Web Magazine! Riccardo is a true “renaissance man” —- which means someone who does a little bit of everything, and does it very well.  Yes, modesty apart …. he is a very talented  person and his knowledge ranges from the arts to technology to health science and beyond! Discover more about Riccardo by taking a look at his eclectic choice of topics that allows him to share his talents and interests with us. Happy reading!   English_For_You!

 

TWO PASSIONS!  —  The Art of Dance and Coro Musica Antiqua

 

Riccardo Alegretti   Modern Dance     Riccardo Alegretti Dancing in white

 

I have always loved to dance. Dancing made me feel alive, free, and at peace with myself. Learning and practicing the art of dance for 13 years helped me to overcome my shyness  — and when I danced my body and my soul were one. Unfortunately, in 2009 I developed a knee problem and I had to stop dancing.

However, my soul still yearned for artistic expression so I returned to singing which I had started doing quite by accident almost 18 years ago!  One day my neighbor asked me if I wanted to try to sing in a choir. I tried it and I liked it. So, now I am a member of Coro Musica Antiqua which is a  madrigal choir where I am  a humble tenor trying to sing some of the most beautiful music ever written!

Riccardo Alegretti  Madrigal Choir 2 (Terni, Italy)Coro Musica Antiqua (Terni, Italy)

Coro Musica Antiqua is a amateur choir based in Terni, Italy and directed by Ms. Stefania Trabalza. It is an a cappella choir which performs a cappella music written specifically for group or solo singing without instrumental sound, or a piece intended to be performed in this way. All the choir members are like brothers and sisters to me – we are always laughing and joking! But we are very serious about our music – in fact our repertoire is vast and we perform a cappella music that fits into the historical period of both the 1400s and 1500s.

Here below is a video of one of our more recent performances held in May 2014 in Terni, Italy during the Terni Cantamaggio Festival.

 

Terni Cantamaggio: Coro Musica Antiqua “Sognanno pe Terni”

Check out our Coro Musica Antiqua Facebook page for more music videos and information!

 

Health and Social Practitioner (Operatore Socio Sanitario – OSS)

 

I have always felt the need to do something for other people especially those who have experienced difficulties. I have been doing volunteer work since I was 18 years old and I never stopped. In April of this year, I  decided to change my life and I left my old job to enroll in an intensive training course to become a Health and Social Practitioner (Operatore Socio Sanitario – OSS).

???????????????

I have been studying important subjects such as psychology, anatomy, and hygiene which I find to be very interesting and stimulating. I have been doing my internship in residential facilities such as child care and  psychiatric centers. In October 2014,  I also started an internship at a local hospital and I am very excited about being a part of such a wonderful opportunity to help others in need.

 

Operatori-socio-sanitari_  helping people

Although, as Health and Social Practitioner I do not earn a lot of money —  my personal satisfaction is very high and I love my work. Currently, in the afternoons, I am already caring for a disabled person in my city. Of course, even though I do not aspire to earn a high salary, I would like to earn what is right! 🙂 I believe that this profession, as well as other healthcare professions, are essential for our society because, unfortunately, there are many sick people that are alone and left to themselves.

My goal is to be able to work in a public or private structure or create my own health care company! My dream is to develop a structure where many people can benefit from top-notch professional health care. I feel that health and social care should be given by trained professionals who are motivated by a strong and sincere desire to provide for the psychological, physical, and social well-being of those in need of assistance.

 

OSS  health professionals

 Health and Social Practitioners (Operatori Socio Sanitario -OSS)

 

RANDOM QUESTIONS

 

1. Tell me about the most interesting person you’ve ever met.
I have met many people in my life who have changed me from the inside out! They are people who have enriched my soul. They are simple people, but for me, each of them has a special place in my heart.

simple people happy people

 
2. If you could take a week and travel anywhere in the world, where would you go?
I would like to see places and cities that I have ever seen. I am fascinated by Japan and its culture. I would  also like to see Ireland and South Africa. Can I see them all  in one week? I do not think so,,,,, unfortunately.

Around the world  famous landmarksThe planet Earth and some famous landmarks!

 

3. What is the one truly defining moment of your life so far?

The most important moment is when I realized that I could choose to be happy… the past is the past.

40870-Choose-To-Be-Happy
4. What is the most spontaneous thing you’ve done lately?
Writing a letter to a lost friend.

5. Who has influenced you the most?
First of all, my family but the person who  I feel is most close to me is my best friend Silvia, who has always been there for me in the most difficult moments of my life.

 

 

6. Who is your favorite historical figure?
San Francesco of Assisi. (St. Francis of Assisi)

San-Francesco

 

7. What is your best inherited quality?
To be humble.

 

8. Name your favorite thinker.
Osho aka Osho Rajneesh

 

9. What is the one thing you most want to do?
I want to realize myself during this lifetime  — and look back and see that I have done my best!

Life the life you love  love the life you live  Bob Marley

 

 

10. Have you been to any good musical performances lately?
No, not lately …but a few years ago, I was in New York  and I saw a performance of the “The Lion King Musical” on Broadway. Amazing!……… I actually cried during the show!  An unforgettable experience! ;))

The Lion King Musical on Braodway in New York“The Lion King Musical” on Broadway at the Minskoff Theater in New York City.

 

11. What type of vacation do you prefer? Are you a relaxer or an explorer?
I love to visit cities around the world… eating local foods… walking through unknown streets armed only with a map, a camera and the sweet half of my heart that I have yet to find….Maybe I am an explorer.

camera street travel

 

12. Do you like animals?
I love animals… I have a dog named Kita that is my life. She is like a daughter to me. I found her abandoned along a country road. She was malnourished and sunburned because it was summer and she been tied to a tree. She was about 8 months and now she is 13 years old. She is my angel without wings and the companion with whom I have had the longest relationship (smile).

 

 

 

Riccardo Alegretti and his dog

Riccardo and Kita! — Best friends for life!  😉

Leave a Reply

